52 comments on “Dynasty Warriors 7 – Modes Analysis

  1. So… It’s not possible to replay the stages of the Story Mode (with the same objectives and same characters) in Chronicle Mode? :(

    • You can play those maps in Conquest Mode I believe. Not in Story Mode, because each stage is designed for each officer co-operated with the cutscenes and seamless gameplay, and it’s also more realistic, cause you can’t play as Zhuge Liang before you actually found him in the beginning of the Shu chapter, for example.

      • “You can play those maps in Conquest Mode I believe.”

        Yeah … I really hope this will be exactly the same maps as in the Story Mode. (With the same objectives and the same characters). I find it unfortunate that we can no longer play the stages of Story Mode with the character you want. Thank you for your information, Insp. Chin. :)

  2. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this info~
    In agreement. The fixed characters is better for story telling, and also, you can’t neglect any of the characters which is something a few people do XD
    This game is really looking promising =D

  3. Hi chin, for an example, say I am using Cai Wenji. I have equppied the harp and a flute. If the flute is currently selected, and I normal musou – the one that is done with the Ex weapon (harp), will my weapon suddenly change back to the harp? And when the musou is done, will my weapon go back again to the flute?
    Thanks

    • If you’re selecting the flute and execute the Musou, her Musou will still be the harp but after the Musou attack is done, it’ll go back to the weapon you’re equipping which is the flute, in this case.

  4. Whats the quality of the online experience? It seems amazing, but lots of online games have some serious lag issues. And since youre playing this game probably as we speak (lucky bastard) i figured i could get some info from you. SO HOW IS IT!!? ^_^

  5. Why ?!! Story mode is only one player ?! :(

    thats bad I want to play it with my brothers spilt screen :(

    half of the fun goes now

    Iam disappointment ! -^-

  6. Will the online co-op let you play with people from different regions? I saw one of your screenshots one of the player IDs had “jp-ja” after the name. Reason I ask is I’m importing DW7 but all of my friends are waiting for the US release (they can’t read Japanese).

  7. Just a question about the difficulty. From 2- 4 the difficulty was hard (even on easy). I had to continually block. Please tell me the easy difficulty is like dw 6. Or is it hard like the others? (either way, I am still excited for this game). Thanks Chin!!

  8. In the options menu, do you know if you can change the language settings? For the US release I’d like to be able to hear the Japanese voices (I just think they fit the characters nicely :D)

  9. Hang on. So there’s no free mode and each character does not have his own story mode? Is this true? How could they take out free mode and character-specific story modes?! :(

  10. NO FREE MODE??!! D:

    I’m still really looking forward to this game, but I keep reading articles about bits being removed, like Free Mode and the morale bar… In the end, it’s going to be a completely different game. We don’t want a different game! We want Dynasty Warriors!

  11. Ok….if anyone has seen the leaked Gan Ning images….

    Try to convince me that they didnt totally ruin my favorite character. Cuz from the looks of it…everything that was Gan Ning, is totally destroyed. Hes so huge now….he looks like he could tackle a skyscraper and knock it down…and they gave him a chain and sickle!!! thats bullshit. lol i was hoping for a step up from those shitty daggers. Alas….i wait ALL this time for ONE character…and they fuck him up royally. Tecmo has ruined Koei as far as im concerned.

  12. Ok….if anyone has seen the leaked Gan Ning images.

    Try to convince me that they didnt totally ruin my favorite character. Cuz from the looks of it…everything that was Gan Ning, is totally destroyed. Hes so huge now….he looks like he could tackle a skyscraper and knock it down…and they gave him a chain and sickle!!! thats bullshit. lol i was hoping for a step up from those shitty daggers. Alas….i wait ALL this time for ONE character…and they fuck him up royally. Tecmo has ruined Koei as far as im concerned.

  13. Are you able to pause / unpause the character models in mid-action like in the previous Gallery modes from the Empires games?

  14. I noticed somewhere saying that story mode stages can be unlocked via conquest mode. Is this true? If it is, does that mean that the moment I get the game, I won’t be able to completely devote myself to story mode before I proceed to conquest mode?

  15. Well…i just confuse about one thing. about the story mode, will we play as the character we select (for example, from the available characters in shu, i choose zhao yun and complete the entire shu’s story as him.) or we will play all the characters alternately in the kingdom depend on the stage (for example in the shu’s story playing the yellow turban rebellion as liu bei, then for the next stage, battle of chang ban for example, the character will switch from liu bei to zhao yun. so the character will switch automatically depend on the stage that i’m playing.)

  16. You know, I’m just throwing a random question right now that’s kind of not related to Dynasty Warriors.

    What does Insp. Chin stand for? Your name? and what’s Insp un-abbreviate into?

    Just curious, since I joined KOEI Warriors after you sort of left the forum

  17. Will conquest mode have the same stages from story mode and the same plot or story when playing them? For example you play yellow turban rebellion and it’s the same as story mode but without cutscenes? Like the classic freemode but only in conquest mode?

  18. Insp. Chin, how do you switch costumes on dw7? I have tried and tried to find out how but I have no idea how to. thanks!!

Leave a Reply

